craft revivalism

Matthew Crawford has written a compelling book about the importance of craftsmanship. It’s called Shop Class as Soulcraft: An Inquiry Into the Value of Work, published by Penguin Press in May. I haven’t read the book, but I read his article in the New York Times Magazine.

This line of thought is especially interesting to me as I’ve began to pursue my own craft: pottery.

Yes, folks, it’s true. I attended the first session of a 7-week long course at the Guilford Art Center on Monday. Needless to say to anyone who’s attempted this or any other craft, it kicked my butt raw.

Hopefully, in time, I’ll learn patience and humility–as with all endeavors in this life. At any rate, enjoy Crawford’s article and comment your reactions to his position. (Note especially the confluences with Wendell Berry’s hesitance to sanction the reigning positivistic worldview of “bigger, better, more efficient,” which, in Crawford’s case, manifests itself in the form of information-worker propaganda. Sorry–that’s all I can say about that now.)

Leave a Reply

