bono op-ed in ny times

Folks. Fans. Friends.

Again, I apologize for the laziness. I’m working out my “life plan” for next year, and it’s simply all-consuming. I’ll be back with more original thoughts and reflections after I feel like I’ve got the upper hand on what I’ll be doing come August.

In the meantime, check out this opinion piece Bono wrote for the New York Times on Saturday. It’s remarkably well-written, and the metaphorical musings on the music of Christianity are profound. Still, I can’t help feeling like the last few paragraphs dropped out of the sky. I mean, it’s the same old Bono we all know and love: charity, progress, and uplift. But what’s he really saying that the typical puffed-up NY Times reader (including me!) doesn’t already believe?

Bono.

One response to “bono op-ed in ny times

  1. Chris Colizza

    I’m going to pick on Bono for several reasons, the foremost being his failure to stir me (and probably anyone else). He talks about an increase of Americans “taking up public service”, but talks merely about politics, and not about an individual’s soul, which he had already alluded to as being more important than either head or heart. I respect Bono for trying to use his celebrity status to garner more funding for global aid, but his position as a rockstar is fairly unique, and he should have tried to target his piece to stirring individual souls to take up public service, in light of the Easter theme of Christ’s ultimate service of love to us.

    Americans, regardless of their faith, should not be solely encouraged to petition senators for aid money; money which is sometimes ineffective and almost always disconnected from our personal lives. I thought Bono’s emphasis on Senate politics did more to absolve me from a feeling of duty to public service. If Bono’s audience were rockstars and senators, then his piece was on.

    I can’t agree that his piece is “well-written” – the music imagery just wasn’t very meaningful. That being said, I do resonate with the rhythms of the faith he discusses, rhythms which often pulse around Thanksgiving and Christmas in our consumer-driven culture.

    I like Bono because he uses his celebrity status for gain, but he let me down a bit with this writing.

Leave a Reply

